Lagos, Ogun, Kano, others to Get New Police Chiefs

Fourteen Commissioners of Police have been given higher responsibilities with new ranks of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) in fresh reorganisation announced by the authorities.

The Police Service Commission (PSC) also approved the appointment of six Deputy Inspectors General of Police with two to proceed on pre-retirement leave.

A statement signed by Mr Ikechuku Ani, the PSC Head of Press and Public Relations, says, “The Police Management Team consists of 7 DIGs”. The remaining four are to replace the four retired DIGs… The new DIGs are Abdul Dahiru Danwawu; Lawal Shehu; Adeyemi Samuel Ogunjemilusi; Peter Babatunde Ogunyanwo, all former AIGs and Alex Okpara and Celestine Okoye, former CPs. DIG Ogunjemilusi and DIG Okpara are to proceed on pre-retirement leave.

The 14 Commissioners whose promotions to AIG rank were approved included Yunana Babas, Dan-Malam Mohammed, Mua’zu Zubairu Halilu, Rabiu Yusuf, Sanusi Nma Lemu, Ahmed Iliyasu, Mohammed Uba Kura, Zaki M. Ahmed, and Gwandu Haliru Abubakar.

Others are Zama Bala Senchi, presently CP, Jigawa State Command; Bello A. Sadiq; Austin Iwero Agbonlahor; Lawan Ado, former CP, Kwara State Command and currently Commandant Police College, Kaduna and Bashir Makama.

Ogun State CP, Bashir Makama
The appointments and promotions were the highpoints of the Commission’s 6th Plenary Meeting held in Abuja on Friday, October 18th and chaired by Alhaji Musiliu Smith, Chairman of the Commission.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 230 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents, eleven Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents and 211 Assistant Superintendents to Deputy Superintendents.

Forty one Inspectors were also promoted to ASP1.

The new CSPs included Kabiru Ishaq; Sufi Salisu Abdullahi, Dattijo Abdullahi, Bisiriyu Akindele, Faloye Folusho, Ngozi Faith Nwosu, Shehudden Yusuf Baba, Ibrahim Bashir, Benjamin Nlemchukwu Ugwuegbulam, Remigius Nnaemeka Ekpe, Tope Adewunmi Oparinde, Esther Ifeoma Nwaiwu, Victoria Olayinka Mulero, and Ogbonnaya Nwota.

Ani quoted Smith saying, “The Commission will continue to closely monitor the performance of these Officers and enjoined them to rededicate themselves to the service of their fatherland.”

Smith added that promotion in the Force would continue to be based on merit, seniority and availability of vacancies.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button