Ex-Gov. Abiodun’s Chief Of Staff, Salisu clinches Ogun Central APC Senatorial Ticket

Shuaib Afolabi Salisu, a former chief of Staff to Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun, has won the Ogun central senatorial seat on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Salisu, who emerged as the senatorial candidate of the party for the 2023 general election, polled 301 votes to defeat the Immediate Past Commissioner for Co-operative and Community Development, Hon. Ganiyu Hamzat, who scored 64 votes,Senator Olugbenga Obadara scored 2 votes and three other Aspirants.

The election, held at the Centenary Hall, Ake Abeokuta, had in attendance officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), party officials and security agents, including soldiers, who were on ground to ensure adequate security.

Announcing the result of the primary election, Pastor Remi Hazzan declared that Alhaji Shuaib Afolabi Salisu, having polled a total of 301 valid votes to defeat Hon. Ganiyu Hamzat, he was the APC’s senatorial candidate for Ogun Central.

Speaking with newsmen after emerging winner, Salisu promised to work for victory of his former boss, Prince Dapo Abiodun and other All Progressives Congress candidates at the 2023 general election.

While thanking Governor Dapo Abiodun for allowing internal democracy to play out in the Ogun APC, he said he would support and provide quality representation, if elected as Ogun Central Senator in 2023.

Salisu also called on those who contested the position with him, to join him in making APC emerges victorious in the senatorial district next year.

He thanked the party leaders like Ogun state APC Chairman, Chief Yemi Sanusi, Ogun Central Chairman , Chief Abiola Fohun and Other Notable Leaders across Ogun Central for giving him a chance to offer himself to serve the people of his land of birth.

Dignitaries at the event are All six Ogun Central local government chairmen led by the secretary of ALGON and the chairman of Odeda local government, Hon. Folasade Adeyemo, Former Chairman of Odeda local government, Hon. Semiu Bola Lawal, Hon Olanrewaju Majekodunmi, Hon. Wale Ajiboye(MTN) Comrade Olusola Adewusi Aka Skingle, all Ogun Central Party Chairmen led by the chairman of Chairmen and Abeokuta South APC chairman, all Ogun Central Party Local Government Youth Leaders and Women Leaders and other party faithfuls across Ogun Central senatorial district.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

Back to top button